I’m Sorry Not Sorry

After reading this article about the recent results of teacher surveys on the use of technology impacting students ability to have long attention spans and be engaged I have some things to say.

Yes teachers need to be engaging but when was that not an issue? We all know we learn more if engaged. Attention spans are short, also not something new for kids or many adults if you think about the people in your life.

I don’t think technology is the problem, I think we are jealous of how easy technology makes engagement look and for many they will never be that exciting of a presenter. I think this helps the agreement of active learning and flipped classrooms for all ages.

The other day I was talking with some other working moms about doing presentations. For many people this is a HUGE fear, I even know teachers that are comfortable in a classroom but you put them in front of parents and they tense and freeze up. One mom who is a power house of a manager said she hates to speak in public and is very buttoned up and serious the whole time. She recently was trained on how to be more engaging. She said the presenter compared it to how everyone listens when a kid speaks. They are not only cute but they use their whole body, eyes, volume and intensity to convince you of what ever idea is on their mind, even if it makes no sense at all!

If you think of those presenters you really enjoy they are typically engaging for the same reasons, and if they are not adorable they might have a great sense of humor. Here is the article I read that provoked this blog.

Here is a picture of my engaging children.IMG_3365.jpg

 

 

One thought on “I’m Sorry Not Sorry

  1. Librarian Monique says:

    Hi, Billie:

    This is such an interesting topic. In my opinion, I think there are a couple of conflicting issues with what the survey is detailing. First, is that I think you’re totally correct in the importance of how instructors deliver their class presentations and that it must be as equally engaging. Also, I agree that it is not necessarily technology. In regards to that aspect with technology, I think sometimes educators may have the best intentions on using a useful digital technology but if one just “presses play” and sits back for the technology to do all the work then that may produce student disengagement. I believe that is the same for face-to-face and online courses. The second issue is whichever technology the educator chooses, they need to ensure that it is meaningful to the assignment and align with student learning outcomes of the assignment. It wouldn’t make sense to use a digital tool that does not apply to the learning activity.

    Like

Leave a Reply

